La Salle de Bain

Another room is complete. This one was sort of done on a whim. I hadn’t exactly planned to redo the bathroom so quickly, and to be honest, not much thought really went into it. However, I can’t take the credit for the beautiful results. It was mostly Grace who worked on this room, besides of course the higher areas that she couldn’t reach. What are big sisters for? Reaching tall areas of course.

I may have mentioned before that prior to my purchase of the home, the entire inside had been painted a warm, neutral beige. This could be seen throughout the hallways, living room, dining room, kitchen, and of course, the bathroom. Neutrality is certainly a good thing when attempting to sell a house, but personalizing each room once inside is what makes the house a home.

With so many other projects going on, the bathroom was really the last of my worries. It was fine, alright perhaps…it served its purpose. However, the more I looked at it, the more drab it began to seem. It felt small, cold, and plain, and since it is the only bathroom in the house, I decided that it was important to change that vibe.

Grace and I chose the color sea spray, which on the sample appeared much more subtle than when we began to spread it on the top portion of the wall. At first, we were going to leave the wainscoting beige, but the more blue that went on the walls, the more the yellow undertones began to emerge. Suddenly, the room seemed juvenile, like that of a nursery. So, Grace suggested that we paint the wainscoting white. I was hesitant because quite frankly, painting gets old, but I’m so glad that she made this decision. The white made all the difference.

It is safe to say that the combination of the white wainscoting with the light blue wall, dark wood vanity & cabinet, and the white and silver shower curtain not only seemed to double the size of the room, but make it into a welcoming and elegant space. This all started with the much needed purchase of a new toilet seat. The old one had chipping paint and looked pretty frightening.

Next up: Dining Room furniture. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “La Salle de Bain

  1. Vintage Living Magazine says:

    Nice job. πŸ™‚

  2. sketchkat06 says:

    oh I envy your wainscoting! And I like the traditional colors πŸ™‚
    I found a textured wallpaper at Home Depot that is bead board, moisture resistant and stainable. I think I can do my whole bathroom with one $25 roll so maybe in a few months I will have something similar to show you!

Leave a Reply

