Ikea Love

It has been a while since I have posted. After packing so many home improvements into such a short amount of time, I’m pleased to say that I have allowed myself a break and have had time to actually enjoy my new home. I’ve had a few gatherings and my house warming party is quickly approaching. The house is continuing to look more and more homey. Over the weekend I took a trip to Ikea with my mom and Grace. Mom bought me 2 lovely shelving units (as seen in the pictures), a chair to match my computer desk, and some little odds and ends. One of my favorite new addition to my house is the plant. For some reason, the plants seems to have added exactly the “lived in” look that I was craving. In fact, I liked it so much that I went out and purchased a small cactus for my kitchen.

We centered the television and it helped to make the room more symmetrical.

New configuration and furniture

If you have ever been to Ikea, then you probably know the drill. You wander through the display rooms with wide eyes and a mini Ikea pencil and paper, writing down aisle and bin numbers for the merchandise that interests you. If you go on a weekend, you must do all of this while avoiding bumping into young couples and children jumping from bed to couch. Once you have finished with the display rooms, you head downstairs to the shopping area where you will find smaller household items, organization tools, artwork, a $1 toilet brush, you get the drift. As you near the end of the maze you quickly transition from pleasant store front to large warehouse. This is when your aisle and bin numbers come in handy. Ikea has a very distinct smell of cinnamon buns, so it’s difficult to resist purchasing one at the small exiting cafe. I have liked Ikea since the day I stepped foot there as a young child. My reasons have changed, but my feelings have not. At first it was the large playground and ballpit that my mother would leave me in while she did her shopping. Now it’s the design ideas, affordable furniture, and odds and ends that peak my interest.

My new shelving units are simple. They are black and have cubes. It seems that my family room has taken on a square theme inadvertently. The block windows are square, the picture frames on the wall, and now..the bookshelves. Each unit was around $70 and of course came disassembled in a large cardboard box. Fitting these boxes into my small, Toyota Corolla was a bit of a challenge. Grace and I eventually managed to configure them so that one was sticking out of the window, and one was sticking out of the trunk. Driving like this was nerve-wracking since I had never done it before. Grace and I had a nice time assembling the units when we got home. The picture directions made things interesting. I especially enjoyed the picture of the confused looking guy phoning Ikea.

I may sand this and paint it black.

All in all things are going well. I still need to decide what to do about additional furniture for the dining room. I ordered blinds for the kitchen from JustBlinds.com so those should be coming soon. Aunt Jenny gave me this great surf-board shaped coffee table, but I’m still debating whether or not it is suited for the Family Room. The one that was in there before is more sturdy and has a drawer, whereas the one she gave me is flimsy but looks neat and takes up less room. I suppose I will just keep it there for a while and then decide later on.

Stay tuned. 🙂

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

