Fickle with Paint!

I like to think that I have a solid head on my shoulders and a good sense of reality, but when it comes to certain things, I think that making a hasty decision is the most effective option. In particular, PAINT. I know that my last few house projects have involved this. When the study was still contractor’s beige, I thought that it was fine but that a warm, darker color would really bring the room together, creating the cozy, eclectic look that I desired. However, amongst all of the brown paint samples laid one that I later decided did not belong. This, of course, ended up being the color that I chose to paint the study only a few weeks ago. At first, it seemed brown until the next few days when I really noticed the purple undertones and realized that instead of a warm brown, I had chosen a cool plum.

Here is my pile of furniture during the process.

Here is my pile of furniture during the process.

While friends and family said that it looked good yet understood my dilemma, I insisted that I needed to take action. Paint is such a great product. I have said before that simply adding a color to a room can completely change the atmosphere. Needless to say, I took a trip to home depot on Saturday with my dad to grab a few of those actual mini-paint samples. Being unsure of the color, I did not want to make the same mistake and spend hours of effort painting the room only to decide that I changed my mind. I brought home 2 samples: a warm, reddish pumpernickle brown and a very basic, straight brown. I had a fun time painting these on various walls and making a mess of the room. Both colors seemed appealing but I decided to take a chance and go with the warmer of the two.

Here is the finished product. The new color is much more complimentary to the world map.

Here is the finished product. The new color is much more complimentary to the world map.

I am happy to say that the color turned out spectacularly; it is exactly what I had imagined in the first place. I am getting a little bit better at painting. At least,

I have figured out the importance of excellent prepping since it saves so much time and grief in the end. Some good tunes certainly help the process along, so I recommend turning up that stereo before you start. As usual, I moved all of the furniture by myself.

Next on the list? Hmm…might be a new chandelier for the dining room or an additional bookshelf for the study.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is me. By the end I was covered in paint!

This is me. By the end I was covered in paint!

Leave a Reply

