Bye Bye Brass

Before-brass

Before-brass

I was sick of looking at my brass fireplace screen but just couldn’t spend the money on a new one right now. So I put on my thinking cap and headed to Home Depot in hopes of finding a high heat spray paint that would work on metal. I was excited by the number of choices of spray paint. The chalkboard paint would be really fun to do on something.P1150625

Anyway, I decided to go with black. I started by moving the screen to the garage. It was very cob-webby and rather disgusting. I washed it with soap and water and then used steel wool on it. Finally, I slapped on a mask and began spraying.

After-black

After-black

Ta da! Quick-fix. I also sprayed some of my crappy brass doorknobs silver. They didn’t turn out as nicely as I intended but they will serve their purpose.

5 thoughts on “Bye Bye Brass

  1. Meghan says:

    Love the smokey color! Nice job!

    • Thanks. I am also in the process of adding a big mirror above the fireplace. It’s been in the family since I was little and I think it will add depth to the room. Plus, with my patio being the next big expense, I’m not in a place to buy artwork. The fireplace screen turned out nicely but I still don’t love it. It’s a nice change!

      • Meghan says:

        I love the idea of the mirror above the fireplace. I don’t have any decorative mirrors in the house and I wish I did. Can’t wait to see that update – post pictures!

  2. Tyler says:

    Looks great! Nice job of completely changing a look without having to spend much and yet getting a great look.

Leave a Reply

