Workbench Time

It has been a while since I have done any major home improvements. The patio was my last great feat, and to be honest, it was tiring. I can assure you though that I am craving something new to do. I have been organizing the basement little by little. There are still things that I would like to put into plastic containers, but I am getting somewhere. My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stumble across a gold mine a few weeks ago in the form of someone’s trash. We found plastic shelving, a large piece of peg board, working extension cords, and some other little trinkets.

Anywho, I am pleased to present the newest addition to my house-the workbench! I did take a part in this project-I stained the darn thing, and helped choose the wood from the pile at home depot. I also may have held a few pieces together while Adam attached them, but he gets all of the credit. I will say that, like most things, it is a work in progress. Eventually the peg board will be behind it, and some other little additions will be made here in there. But I can tell you that this thing is SOLID. I recommend building one!
The plan came from this handy site: http://www.familyhandyman.com/workshop/workbench/how-to-build-a-workbench-super-simple-50-bench/view-all

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Making some initial cuts

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Frame

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Skeleton

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bottom shelf frame

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Securing table top

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Basic model created

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stool obtained from someone’s trash-perfect size! -Marker board will eventually be attached.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stain for protection, which really ended up looking clear.

1176341_10101257420156798_1258083282_n

Adam and the cat on the (almost) finished product.

 

Leave a Reply

