Bridesmaid Clothespin Dolls

While this is my “House” blog, I also love crafting, so you will have to excuse me for a moment as I take a home improvements break to present you with some wedding-related crafting. I am getting married next August, and like many brides these days, am following the trend of “rustic” wedding. It works for Adam and I because we are not overly formal people and have spent a lot of time together hiking and enjoying the great outdoors. I wanted to do something special for my bridesmaids when asking each of them to be in the wedding, so I made them each a clothespin doll. This idea is not original, and I stumbled across it when using my favorite tool–google. I was so pleased with the final product, the I just “had” to make one of myself, the bride. Enjoy!

7 6 5 4 3 2 1

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Bridesmaid Clothespin Dolls

  1. Jenny says:

    I love this! What did you use for their skirts?

    • Mary says:

      Thank you! For the skirts, I bought wide ribbon that was on sale at Pat Catan’s for 75 cents (win). The ribbon had a sort of thickness to it, which I think helped. Other tutorials suggest fabric which would also work well I’m sure (since the ribbon was fabric anyway).

      • Jenny says:

        I can’t seem to find a tutorial on how to make their arms! What did you use? It looks like just jewelry wire wrapped in embroidery wire?

      • Mary says:

        Hello! I did not use one particular tutorial, but flipped through a few. Some people use pipe cleaners for the arms. They drill a tiny hole through the clothespin, and stick one piece through. However, I was not in the mood to get that “fancy.” The ribbon that I used to make the skirts had wire on each edge, so I cut it off and used it since I knew that it would match the skirt.

        You could use a number of things, I’m sure. Embroidery wire would probably work well. I just glued mine on with the glue gun.

        Good luck!

Leave a Reply

